team-up thursday (or monday or whatever)

Yes, it’s monday and the project is team-up thursday – tell me something I didn’t already know. 😉 For the record, I did have my pic ready – just didn’t have time to create the dippy & post it.

We set out to capture our first initials as our theme this week. It actually proved more difficult than I had first thought. I just know somewhere in the shop at work there are 4,796,341 “s” hooks and figured I’d do something cool with them but I could not find a single one. seriously. not one single hook. But in looking for them, I came across a sign we had just repaired for a customer and it just happened to have an “S” on it. Sure, that’s probably cheating a bit but neon has been part of my life for the past 10 years (well, really 15 if you count the years I spent as nanny to the bosses’ kids). So what better way to represent my letter than with it?

Kudos to Erika – she was quite creative with hers!!! Be sure to check out the Team-Up Flickr pool here.

And just a little neon education for you… you’re actually seeing the neon gas itself in a clear glass tube. Neon is really that red-orange and is only used in about half the signs out there. It is used for the warmer colors: pink, red, orange, etc. And argon gas – which is a light blue – is used for the cooler colors: white, blue, green, yellow, turquoise, etc. To get most of the different colors, the glass tube has a phosphorous coating inside and the gas reacts with it to create the color. And there is some out there in which the tube itself is actually colored like stained glass (this is how neon originally was done) but because that is quite expensive it’s not used nearly as much. So, now you learned something new today! Go impress your friends. 🙂

,

  1. #1 by patty on 11 May 2010 - 3:16 am

    great creativity!
    from a fellow diptych-maker! ;o

Leave a Reply

